top of page

27th Vision Awards Dinner

Wooten Vision Dinner 2020 Save the Date

We regret to inform you that our dinner has been
cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Thank you to our honorees HKS and LMU for your understanding and continued support in this challenging time. Meanwhile, our youth center is closed temporarily, providing private tutoring and other services online

Your support is still needed.
Please see text on the right if you'd still like to contribute. Thank you.


Still want to help raise funds for our youth center?

Our center is closed temporarily. We are continuing to offer tutoring and other services online. Help is still needed financially, especially now. 

Three Ways to Give:

1. Your card via Donate above

2. Stock donations: Contact Marco Chu, Merrill Lynch, at (213) 236-2065

3. Mail check or money order payable to Al Wooten Jr Youth Center to:

Attn: Naomi McSwain

Al Wooten Jr. Youth Center
9106 S. Western Ave.

Los Angeles, CA 90047


Gifts of $500 and more will be included with our sponsors below.

Thank you for your support!

For information, contact Naomi at:

(323) 453-6533 cell


Click here for before and after pics 
and renovation supporters, including LMU, HKS, our 2018 Vision Award honoree SAA interiors + architecture, 
The Ahmanson Foundation,
Kinecta Federal Credit Union and more.

Download save the date and reply cards


Our 27th annual Catch the Vision Awards Dinner is honoring...


HKS Architects


Loyola Marymount University

Center for Service and Action



We returned to our youth center this year after more than a year of renovations. An unexpected and welcome result has been interior design improvements thanks in large part to the Loyola Marymount University Center for Service and Action, and HKS Architects, designer of the Rams SoFi Stadium.


Dr. Lezlee Matthews, Professor Saeri Dobson and Librarian Jamie Hazlitt at LMU, and Leslie Fishburn and Jeanette Dvorak at HKS led the charge in providing plans, volunteers and in-kind donations that helped bring us home. Supporters referred by our honorees, including Mannington Commercial and Sherwin-Williams, will be recognized as well. We are eternally grateful to our friends and look forward to honoring them and celebrating a safe and nurturing and beautiful environment for our students!


6pm: Reception and Silent Auction

7pm: Dinner and Wooten Student Achiever Presentations and Medals

8pm: Vision Awards Trophy Presentations and Special Recognitions


Click here to confirm your attendance and receive event updates.


  • Platinum-Plus ($15,000): John and Evelyn Lapham

  • Platinum ($10,000): Kit and Karen Jennings, Steven and Debra Oh

  • Gold ($5,000): Bank of America, Tom and Laurie McCarthy,
    David and Elizabeth McFadzean, Gary and Karen Wagner, Paul and Melinda Wetmore

  • Silver ($2,500): Dr. Dean Baim, Kinecta Federal Credit Union

  • Bronze-Plus ($2,000): Brian Condon and Kara Rossi 

  • Bronze ($1,500): Drs. Bernard and Connie James, Amy Johnson, Keith and Paulette Parker,
    Alice Short and Steve Vielhaber, John and Kathy Talley-Jones

  • Partners ($1,000): Deborah Gero


Download our reply card and submit and pay, per the instructions.


  • Sapphire ($50,000): Two tables of 8, premium full-page ad, premium banner billing

  • Diamond ($25,000): Two tables of 8, premium full-page ad, premium banner billing 

  • Platinum ($10,000): Two tables of 8, premium full-page ad, premium banner billing

  • Gold ($5,000): One table of 8, premium full-page ad, premium banner billing

  • Silver ($2,500): One table of 8, full-page ad, banner billing

  • Bronze ($1,500): One table of 8, half-page ad, banner billing

  • Partners ($1,000): Four tickets, half-page ad, banner billing

  • Supporters ($500): Two tickets, quarter-page ad, banner billing


  • Full-Page, 8.5x11 ($500)

  • Half-Page, 8.5x5.5 ($300)

  • Quarter-Page, 4x5 ($200)

  • Eighth-Page/Business Card, 4x2.5 ($150)

Email camera-ready ad or text and images by May 1 to Naomi at



$150 each


Click here to pay with your card or mail a check or money order
payable to Al Wooten Jr. Youth Center to:

Naomi McSwain, executive director

Al Wooten Jr. Youth Center

9106 S. Western Ave.

Los Angeles, CA 90047

For more information, contact Naomi at (323) 453-6533 or


Yes, we accept stock donations! Contact our broker at:

Marco Chu

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. 

333 South Hope Street, 39th Floor

Los Angeles, CA  90071 

Tel: 213.236.2065  

Fax: 213.629.3428

Continued thanks to our 2019 honorees Steven and Debra Oh and last year's sponsors below.

SAPPHIRE ($50,000)

Debra and Steven Oh 

SAA interiors + architecture 



John and Evelyn Lapham


PLATINUM ($10,000)

Paul and Melinda Wetmore


GOLD ($5,000)

Bank of America 


Goldman Sachs 

Christopher and Karen Jennings 

Tom and Laurie McCarthy 

Gary and Karen Wagner 

SILVER ($2,500)

Brian Condon and Kara Rossi 

Kinecta Federal Credit Union 

David and Elizabeth McFadzean 

UBS Group

BRONZE ($1,500)

Drs. Bernard and Connie James 

Dr. Scott Miller 

John and Kathy Talley-Jones 


RBC Bank 

Wells Fargo Bank

FRIENDS ($300)

Dr. Dean Baim 

Frank and Rosemary Denkins 

Dr. Laurie Inman 

Amy Johnson 

Mary Spellerberg 

LMU CSA logo.png
Steven and Debra at dinner with students
new library final.jpg
Parent Room seating area.jpg
computer lab final.jpg
hallway with banners.jpg
bottom of page