The Wooten Center is grateful for the people providing support for our operations and programs through membership on our board of directors and advisory board. We appreciate everyone for the time and expertise they give to provide the most effective and efficient services possible for our youth and families.


Wooten board members host our annual Vision Awards Dinner and Wooten Golf Classic. They meet bimonthly for our general and committee meetings and at our annual board retreat. We are in the process of recruiting new members.


For information on board membership, contact our executive director at 323-756-7203, or go to Contact to send her an email.

























Our board of directors is totally awesome. They participate faithfully in governance and fiscal oversight via general board and committee meetings. In addition to the meetings, they contribute in a variety of ways, including volunteering with students and staff and serving as sponsors for our dinner and golf fundraisers.


Our directors and advisors are great about supporting staff as needed, providing a wealth of expertise and referrals to help manage our affairs and sustain our programs and operations.


We appreciate them greatly and consider ourselves blessed to have their care and support. Check out the photos above for a variety of ways our board members contribute regularly.


Click on a photo to expand and scroll.



​Honorary board


Myrtle Faye Rumph (1931-2015)



Barbara Clark​​

Founding member


Board Chair Emeritus


Ron Glass (1945-2016)








Paul F. Wetmore

Managing Director, Investments

Merrill Lynch



Leighton A. Carter


Biashara, Inc.


Robert Clark

FBI (retired)


Brian Condon


Arnold & Porter LLP


Frank Denkins

Owner (retired)

Office Furniture LA


Laurie Inman, Ed.D.

Chairperson - Liberal Studies

Cal State University, Dominguez Hills


Connie James, Ph.D.

Professor of Business, Strategy and Ethic

Pepperdine University

Christopher “Kit” Jennings


Liquid Venture Partners

Amy L. Johnson

Executive in Residence, Pepperdine University 

CEO/Founder, Go Make a Difference Ventures, LLC

Michael S. Jones, DTM

President and CEO

Success Management, LLC

John G. Lapham, III

Managing Director, Leverage Finance
PineBridge Investments​


Kenneth L. McRay

Senior Vice President

Crescent Capital

Scott Miller, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Finance

John H. Sykes College of Business

University of Tampa

Dashan Nettles

Administrative Officer

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Keith S. Parker

Assistant Vice Chancellor (retired)

UCLA Government & Community Relations


Camille Richardson

First VP-IT Solutions Delivery

Kinecta Federal Credit Union


Brett C.S. Roberts

Parking/Traffic Commissioner-City of Inglewood

Metro Community Relations

Kathy Talley-Jones

Independent Writer and Planner


Gary Wagner

President and COO (retired)

Ameron International​



Chris L. Hickey, Sr., Ph.D.

Executive Director

Each One, Teach One
Alliance for Academic Access,
Achievement and Success


Eric V. Johnson

Senior Vice President
Division Head
National Loan Operations

Northern Trust


Tom McKissick

Group Managing Director
U.S. Equities

TCW, Inc.

Ira Pelofsky

USC Credit Union


Vanessa Rojo Schneider

Marriage and Family Therapist


Larry Weisenberg

Communications Director

Knowledge Universe


Phillip York, Esq.​​​​​​​​​

Attorney at Law


  • c-facebook
  • c-twitter
  • c-youtube

Al Wooten Jr. Youth Center
9106 S. Western Ave.

Los Angeles, CA 90047

(323) 756-7203

Se Hablamos Espanol


© Al Wooten Jr. Youth Center​

formerly Al Wooten Jr. Heritage Center

GuideStar 2018 Platinum seal of transpar

GuideStar has awarded the
Wooten Center their Platinum Seal of Transparency, their highest honor for agencies sharing information on their finances and services​.


Click on the seal to go to our GuideStar profile. Click on Donate to make a contribution to our youth center online or by mail. Thank you!